Skip to main content

X-Ray, Ultrasound, and Imaging

Online booking for X-ray now available.

Medical and diagnostic imaging uses various types of technology to take images (pictures) of parts or all of your body to help your doctor diagnose a medical problem that you might have and to help your doctor make decisions about any treatment you might receive. All of the women and children who access services at the IWK Health Centre may be helped by Diagnostic Imaging.

Diagnostic Imaging is made up of five different areas:

  • X-ray (also called "Radiography" )
  • CT (Computed Tomography)
  • Nuclear Medicine
  • MRI (Magnetic Resonance Imaging)
  • Ultrasound

Each area in Diagnostic Imaging performs a variety of examinations (or tests) to diagnose medical conditions in different parts of your body. To have a Diagnostic Imaging examination, your doctor must make a request in writing for you to have the examination (this request is called a "requisition"). Some examinations that are done in Diagnostic Imaging can only be requested by a Specialist.

4 Clinics, Programs or Services